R. ‘Fru Dagmar Hastrup’

I like to try and find out about a favorite plant’s background, but I’ve drawn a blank with this rose.  I read that the name refers to a German lady, but in that case the Fru would have been Frau (and in fact Frau Dagmar Hartopp is a German version of the name; Fru is Danish).  Anyway, R. ‘Fru Dagmar Hastrup’ is about the most compact of the rugosa roses, which was given a special place in my garden in Scotland, and happened to be growing here in Norfolk when I moved here.  I think of it as being very ladylike and rather demure.

imageIt has single flowers, starting rather late and flowering for ages, the delicate light pink silky single flowers replaced by colourful hips in the autumn.  It seems to me very accommodating as to soils and conditions, although it is susceptible to all the rose pests and diseases going, and sadly, enjoyed by rabbits and deer, despite being quite prickly.  Apart from those drawbacks, it is so nice to have a shrub rose that looks healthy all the time.

Leave a comment